Sherpa Journeys

Your Adventure Travel Partner in Himalaya

Home    |    About Us    |    Testimonials    |    Site Map    |    Contact Us


Journeys in Nepal

Hotels & Flights

About Nepal

Helpful Resources


Mountaineering in Nepal Himalaya



Nepal has eight of the highest peaks in the world, and has been the focus of some of the most outstanding achievements in the world of mountaineering. For many decades the dauntless icy peaks have posed as challenge to those who dare. There are some 326 peaks in Nepal open for mountaineering today. Government of Nepal opened around 175 peaks in the last two years to mark the Mount Everest Golden Jubilee Celebrations.

Climbing permit to scale the Nepal Himalaya is issued in all seasons by the Mountaineering Section of the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation. Certain official documents are required to seek permission for climbing peaks. Around 121 peaks do not require a liaison officer for any foreign expedition. Fees or ties depend on the height of the peak starting at US$1,000 for peaks below 6,501 meters (21,323ft) and rising by US$500 for every 500 meters (1640ft).

Climbing gears and equipments can be bought or rented in Kathmandu. We offer full service mountaineering expedition package which include climbing gear (tents, ropes, ladders, pitons and other relevant equipment), food, transportation, climbing guides, cooking crew and porters. We will help you to obtain the climbing permit, equipment import permits and clearance at the customs. We arrange the Nepal staff insurance.

Nepal Himalaya is known as the rooftop of the world. The Himalaya are the highest mountains in the world. Their scenery is legendary. These mountains have had an air of mystery until recently. Even today, the vast area of the Himalaya is untouched. It has always remained a source of fascination and inspiration for people from all walks of life in the world. Himalaya ("Him" means snow and "Alaya" means abode), the abode of snow and the Gods, extends about 2500 Kilometers. The Brahmaputra (Assam) in the east and Indus River in the west demarcate the length of the Himalaya. It is 300 Kilometers wide and rises nine kilometers above the sea level.

The Nepal Himalaya is in the centre of the Himalayan range. Eight peaks that exceed 8000 meters including the world's highest peak Mount Everest are the prominent members of Nepal Himalaya. It has a convergence of 1310 magnificent peaks over 6,000 meters. Nepal has become famous around the world due to these mountains.

It is a very interesting thing to know that there was a sea (the Tethys Sea) between Indian Gondwana continent (Indian sub continent and Eurasian continent). Around 70 and 80 million years ago, the Himalaya began to come into existence. It is a peak of each evolution only about 10 to 20 million years back. Therefore, the Himalaya is extremely young and geologically active. According to geologists, mountains are growing at a rate of 15cm (6 inch) a year as the Indian plate moving northward and forcing under the Eurasian plate. This process (plate tectonics) causes the earthquakes in this region. Geologists say that the collision of continents is squeezing up sedimentary rocks that were once below the sea. The mountains of the Himalaya are the result of the collision of continents.

8000 Meter expedition peaks in Nepal

Mt. Everest
Mount Everest is the highest mountain in the world measuring 8,848m (29,028 feet) in height. It was first climbed on May 29, 1953 by a New Zealander Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay. Mount Everest is also known by the Sherpa name Chomolangma (goddess mother of the snows), and by the Nepali name Sagarmatha (Forehead of the ocean).

Kanchenjunga (8,586) is the third highest mountain in the world. It is located on the border of Nepal and Sikkim, just 46 miles northwest of Darjeeling. The successful British expedition of 1955 set the standard by stopping a few feet short of the actual summit, in honor of the local religion.

Lhotse (8,516) is the fourth highest mountain in the world. Its long east-west crest is located immediately south of Mount Everest and the summits of the two mountains are connected by the South Col.

Lhotse was first climbed in 1956 by two Swiss, fritz Luchsinger and Ernest Reiss. In addition to the main summit, there are two subsidiary peaks, Lhotse Shar, which is immediately east of the main summit, and Nuptse, a high peak on the mountain's west ridge.

Makalu (8,463) is the fifth highest mountain in the world. It is an isolated peak, located just 14 miles east of Mount Everest. Its size alone is impressive, but its structure, that of a perfect pyramid with four sharp ridges, make this mountain all the more spectacular.

A French group first climbed Makalu in 1955. Chomo Lonzo (25,650 ft.) is a subsidiary peak of Makalu, rising just north of the higher summit, separated by a narrow saddle.

Cho oyu
Cho Oyu (8,201) is the sixth highest mountain in the world, located a short distance to the west from Everest in Khumbu region of Eastern Nepal along the Tibetan border. It was first climbed in autumn by two Australians.

Dhaulagiri (8,167) is the seventh highest mountain in the world. It is an enormous Himalayan massif, located in north central Nepal.

In 1960, the Swiss/Australian expedition first reached the summit.

Manaslu (8,163) is the high peak of the Gorkha massif, and is the eight highest mountains in the world. An all-female Japanese expedition successfully ascended to the summit, thereby becoming the first women to climb an 8,000-meter peak.

Annapurna I
Annapurna (8,091) is an enormous Himalayan massif, the tenth highest mountain in the world. In 1950, it became the first 8,000 meter mountain to be successfully climbed. It is located east of great gorge cut through the Himalaya by the Kali Gandaki River. There are five high peaks of Annapurna Massif.

Please feel free to ask us should you wish to use our services in Nepal for a successful ascent of one these great peaks in Nepal Himalaya.

6655-7999 Meter Expedition peaks under Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation Jurisdiction. Inquire for details.

Group A & B Peaks are under Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) Permit Jurisdiction. These peaks can be climbed while on a trek or as an expedition.
Click here for NMA Peaks for mountaineering



|   MUSTANG   |   PIKE   |   MAKALU   |   KANCHENJUNGA   |


P.O. Box 24947
Nil Saraswati Marg,

Kathmandu, Nepal
Telephone: (977-1) 444-2879

Email: and

Copyright © 2009 - 2014 Sherpa Journeys Pvt. Ltd.. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use